Growing Pains

I thought growing up was something that happened automatically as you got older.  But it turns out it’s something you have to choose to do

~Scrubs

There’s a whiteboard outside my office that I put inspirational quotes on. I use song lyrics, or quote garden often to fill the space and try to change it daily. As I was searching for today’s quote I came across the above. I thought on it a minute, and decided its absolutely true. We can age and get older, we can go through things and situations that should mature us, but it doesn’t guarantee that it will. Oddly enough, I thought of the MTV show Teen Mom. I don’t know how familiar you guys are with that show, but one of the mom’s Farrah has got to be the most irresponsible mother of the year. I watch the show often thinking, when you have something like pregnancy in high school you’re supposed to GROW UP and adjust accordingly. She definitely hasn’t. Then I re-thought my thought and decided the key word there was “supposed”.  There’s really no guarantee that anything we go through will transition us from child to adults. That age old Bible verse 1Corinthians 13:11: When I was a child, I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child. But when I grew up, I put away childish things. Its true. There comes a time, we we decide to be men, or when we decide to be women that we put away childish things. We take responsibility for our own lives, we OWN our being. Being gr(OWN) doesn’t just mean tangibly owning things like a house, a car, dividends…it means owning your being as well. Knowing that if something isn’t good for you,  you’re grOWN enough to remove it from your life.

Some people are 50 years old 5 years stuck. They don’t want responsibility for anything, and would rather others just tell them what to do, where to go, how to act because they don’t want to do it for themselves. How many trials must they go through before they see the futility in many of their so-called issues?

I, by no means, do not know it all. Not even a little bit, but I know certain truths, just from living and observing the world.  I know that people who don’t grow up aren’t happy.  As much as we want to be 6 again, we just can’t. Instead we’re 26 and rent is due, car insurance is calling, relationships require more than friendship bracelets, and holding hands. Doesn’t mean you can’t be happy at 26,  its just different. There’s happiness in accomplishment. In success, in knowing that you are strong enough to take control of your life and live it fully. And ain’t nothing wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

