With the greatest of ease

I’m the confessional.

Convenient since I’m Catholic, and a therapist.  But its more than that.

Friends have come to me years before the latter. To confide in me and tell me their secrets. Ask for my opinion (never advice, I rarely offer that) and so on and so forth.  Recently I was reading the blog of one of my good friends and she wrote, “it only becomes that easy when YOU are ready for it to be that easy.” How profound right? It makes perfect sense, which if you knew my friend you’d laugh at the irony, she is like a plate of spaghetti noodles with her logic, but this…this makes sense.

I think its why we can’t give advice to others. Because to us, it is always that easy.  Just stop doing what you’re doing.  And when it comes down to it, that’s exactly what happens. You just stop.

You just stop, and you cross over to the side that sees how illogical/harmful/nonsensical you were being.

Attraversiamo.

This beautiful word haunts me.

One thought on “With the greatest of ease

  1. “it only becomes that easy when YOU are ready for it to be that easy.”

    Love this. Reminds me of another quote that I love because it’s so simple and honest: “It’s so hard when I have to and so easy when I want to”…

    I like this opinion vs advice discussion. I, too am often confided in, cried on, asked for perspective. Like you said, people stop when the enlightenment hits and they are ready to stop. Or start. Or whatever. It’s easy to give advice when your emotions are not entangled in the issue and you’re not the one deeply embedded in some unexamined pattern of behavior. So, it makes sense to me to provide observation and opinion. Perhaps, ask questions to make people think.

    I wouldn’t even want to TELL someone to do something or say IF I WERE YOU I’d do this…because as much as I’ve bumped my head in life, I know I wouldn’t be the woman I am if I hadn’t learned things in my own way. word.

Leave a Reply

