INTJessJ

Yesterday we had an interns meeting at my intern site.  I secretly love these meetings because my Director is such a wealth of knowledge and I always learn so much in there from everyone. I particularly enjoy his insights and another intern who is also a Professor in the Psychology department; she thinks of things in a very abstract way that I love.  Moving on, we were discussing a client that is an INTJ-same as me-and the struggles of counseling a person like this…here’s a brief snippet of what we’re like:

INTJs live in the world of ideas and strategic planning. They value intelligence, knowledge, and competence, and typically have high standards in these regards, which they continuously strive to fulfill. To a somewhat lesser extent, they have similar expectations of others. With Introverted Intuition dominating their personality, INTJs focus their energy on observing the world, and generating ideas and possibilities. Their mind constantly gathers information and makes associations about it. They are tremendously insightful and usually are very quick to understand new ideas. However, their primary interest is not understanding a concept, but rather applying that concept in a useful way (source).

So, my director says, “Once an INTJ client figures out the use of something, they are done with it.” My response was, “What else is there to know?” We all kind of laughed, but I was serious-once I know someone’s or something’s use in my life, everything else falls into place. Perhaps this is why I constantly analyze and reanalyze relationships (the most important things in life to me), because I’m constantly appraising their worth.  Once something has no use, its gone.

My director also said, “An INTJ will believe something with their whole-heart…until they don’t. Then its like they never believed it at all.” Also true, 95% of the time when I make a decision its D.O.N.E. I don’t dwell, because trust me I’ve thought about all the possible ramifications of my decision and not only that, but I’ve thought about the highly unlikely too.

I think that being in this program has helped me to develop my feeling and sensing sides.  Its quite known that INTJs are internal beings who often feel misunderstood because of their inability to express feeling.  I also believe that my being a writer plays a big role.  Someone said write what you know.  I don’t know anything better than me, and I’m even discovering new parts of her everyday.  I really encourage people to explore themselves.  When you think you’ve gone deep enough, go deeper.  There’s nothing in life more fulfilling than getting to know yourself.  Or maybe I’m just saying that because an INTJs opinions are absolute…Alas

5 thoughts on “INTJessJ

  1. “An INTJ will believe something with their whole-heart…until they don’t. Then its like they never believed it at all.”

    I’m so this way about people. Once someone crosses the threshold of reasonableness, I seriously delete them from my mental rolodex.

    3 casualties so far.

  2. “Once an INTJ client figures out the use of something, they are done with it.” My response was, “What else is there to know?” …once I know someone’s or something’s use in my life, everything else falls into place.
    THIS is me all over. I’m an ISTJ though so apparently we’re a lot alike!

    I love stuff like this though…I might have majored in psychology if I hadn’t gone to an engineering school where it was more focused on the biology aspect. We did a psychology seminar in my high school Talented & Gifted class and I OD’d on learning about personality types and even got into astrology (I’m a textbook Capricorn). It was a lot of fun though, and really helped me figure out who I was–so by the time I got to college and everyone else was going through changes I was like, “Y’all are so late.” Guess that’s the “judging” aspect. LOL!

    1. I did one of these in high school too and was an INTJ but didn’t believe it was right. Now that I’ve gotten older I see how/why it is and was always accurate. I always take heed to astrology too–not so much horoscopes but astrological signs…there’s something to it. Someone should do a cross-study.

  3. I think these are so interesting, and it’s really funny to see how even though you may resist your type, it’s still there, taunting you, waiting for you to get it together and realize all you can do is accept you as you.

    (INFP–“I just have a lot a feelings”)

Leave a Reply

