Tender Revelations

I’ve been m.i.a. Namely because of the holidays and lots of socializing, ok…really because Deeds was in town for two weeks. I just got home from taking him to the airport and I have to say, I’m aching.
Something about this trip…or maybe its a little bit each trip, but I’m always left feeling a little bit more convinced that he’s the one *cue Heaven’s angels* The One.
We’d just gotten home last night and he laid down in bed and asked for five minutes. I was hungry and a little grumpy at having to make a long road trip, and he wanted me back in good spirits. I wanted it to, so I laid with him. We didn’t say anything, or do anything…just laid. And that was easily the best moment of the trip for me. I never thought I’d get to a place in my life where I would want someone in my space. Where I’d want to share and to be part of a team. I want it.
I was all too happy to come home to him, to run little errands with him, to watch HOURS of football with him lol, to cook for and care for him. It brought me immeasurable joy, and I’m seriously wondering, “WHO AM I?!”
To think that a week ago I asked him if he thought we should end it, and to look at where I am now feels like lifetimes. I cannot imagine my life without him in it and quite frankly, won’t.
And so, I ache. Of course by the time the pain dulls I’ll be flying out there for Valentine’s day. Then (hopefully) again in March. I’ve also asked him to spend some time here with me in the summer. We’ll see how things work themselves out. That man, Deedle D. Deeds III is my soul’s counterpart. He is as much apart of me as my right arm, and I’m so thankful to God for him.

2 thoughts on “Tender Revelations

  1. One of my Sorors just got engaged to a dude she’s been in a LDR with for 5 years.

    It works sometimes.

    Lots of hurt and crying, but eventually, it works.

    Keep the faith.

Leave a Reply

