Body Image: Dubb on Dubb

Our image of ourselves are often skewed by the media and what it deems beautiful. Our little girls grow up thinking that if they are not a size zero, no one could possibly love them. It’s so unfortunate that we don’t love ourselves enough to see the beauty in our bodies.

1. Since you started blogging has your image of yourself changed?

Yes; but not because of blogging or the blog community just because I’ve been blogging for what? Three years now…and I started blogging when I was in a severe state of depression lol so yes, its changed.  I would say I love and accept myself more fully now.

2. Are you self-conscious about any aspect of yourself? If so, do yougo out of your way to avoid it or do you post it/talk about it anyway?

Mmm my arms are my least favorite body part and always have been, I really don’t even like them touched. Bleh! I don’t not wear short sleeves or dresses because of it though.  I think everybody has something they want to work on or that isn’t their favorite but that’s not going to stop me from living life!  I talk about weight and struggles on here all the time so definitely no avoidance. If its on my mind it comes on on this blog.

3. Based on how you are feeling now, what do you think the futureholds in the evolution of your body image?

It really can only get better from here. I’m falling in love with me, what better gift could one ask for?

4. Do you photograph yourself for your blog? If so, how do you feel about the experience when you’re having your picture taken? If you choose not to post pictures of yourself, what prompted that decision?

All the time! I actually don’t like other people photographing me because most people just snap the camera. Your eye could be weird looking or shirt could be wrinkled…they just don’t care.  I love natural pictures but unless I’m getting my on pappz that’s just out of the question. So I’ll stick to self timer.  I never really think twice about it once the pictures are up.  It does make me laugh the things that people love vs. what I love.

5. What would you want every person who struggles with body image to take to heart?

Love yourself the way you are, where you are.  (Amen Lucy!) Stop calling yourself fat, its not funny or “self aware” its uncomfortable and everyone around you thinks you’re weird because of it.  Stop talking about how small you are, same with uncomfortability only most people just think you’re obsessed with yourself.  Its just not necessary to over verbalize what is already in plain view, and no matter what you say other people will have their own opinions anyway. So just work on the love and acceptance, that will radiate and even if you’re too fat or too skinny people will see the inner beauty.

Recent photo *Deeds* loved (haha)

recent photo *I* love
Recent photo *everyone else* loved

 

Leave a Reply

