Ever faithful: notes from the victoriously profane

Satan has been a real bitch these days. I’m not sure how else to phrase that. He’s been working double over time, 3rd shift, pick up shifts, and a side job to make sure everyone knows he’s still around. The southwest Atlanta in me just said, “Nword we see you, baaack back!”
For me its been money. Everytime I get something straight here comes another setback. Struggle after struggle after MFn struggle. This last time though, I came home and laid on my bed. I prayed and I said God I know you are going to get me through this. That was it. I took a deep breath and exhaled that worry and that anxiety. I believed fiercely that my Lord and Savior has a plan for me that I will not allow fear/doubt/worry to foil. I believe with conviction I’ve never had before; it feels so good to just trust.
Yesterday one of my best friends, Ne, told me about a situation that she is going through. Its utterly unbelievable. I took that same deep breath and told her: I’m utterly convinced that Satan is wrecking havoc right now. But…I just absolutely refuse to devote any energy to worry. So, I’m claiming your victory over this situation. AND I’ma pray for that *pause and edit profanity* girl as well because you’re a wonderful person with the kindest heart and that will prevail over this accusation. I know it will. Love you!”
12, 6 or even 2 months ago that would not have been my initial reaction. There truly might be something to that adage, “the less you stress the less you have to.” God has put so many wonderful things and people in my life, and I’m so grateful for it all. I won’t lose sight of the overflow worried about the deficiency. I have friends and family that love me. I am graduating on Saturday with my Masters. I am officially a Doctoral student. I have every single thing I need.
If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.
Matthew 6:30-34
Amen Amen Amen.

2 thoughts on “Ever faithful: notes from the victoriously profane

  1. I don’t want to cloud this up with astrology stuff (lol) but it says we Taurus people are about to come in to aweseomeness with Jupiter hanging out with us June 2011 – June 2012.

    This year so far has been just…an experience…isht’s for the birds! I’m ready for the good stuff!

Leave a Reply

