ABC 123, curly? Kinky? which is me?

Forgive my title…I was having fun. So my friend Dr. T did a video on YT addressing hair-typing 

After listening to her (while simultaneously playing in my own hair) I commented that I’m not sure what type I am but I’m not sure that knowing really even makes a difference.  I would venture to say that the back of my hair is 3 something, maybe 3c, and the crown of my head is definitely something from Africa. What letter is that?

I pulled a piece of my hair out the front, middle, and back of my hair and they are all curled. Not kinky, not wavy, but curly.  The thing that did help learning how to better care for my hair was not the typing but learning about porosity.  When I learned that my hair is a bit more porous than normal but not exactly dry/brittle/breaking I started to do ACV rinses and I’ve seen such a difference in my hair!  I also love honey washes, anything to make it softer and then it will hold moisture better as well. This winter I though my hair was going to dry up and fall out! I was so happy to have learned about porosity!!! Check out this article on Curly Nikki about it.

Sometimes I wish my hair was either more curly or more  kinky and then I could fro it or finally indulge in wash-and-gos…but alas, it is what it is and it ain’t what it ain’t.  I still love it in all its kinky curly glory.

SHAM WOW FOOLERY

OH and my last bit of hair dirt is actually beef…WTF is this?! I just knoooooow its not supposed to be the lil girl from the cartoon because I think she looked like…

I am gonna pretend like this isn’t another case of media whitewashing things and its just a lil light skinned muppet friend of my chocolate puff head featured above.  I’m just going to pretend reeeeally hard that that’s the case.

Leave a Reply

