Le Boom

I’m laying in bed, should be sleep. But since I can’t I might as well be getting into the wine and cheese of life, right?  I’m listening to Jilly from Philly with her deep ass, and reading the poetry of Anis Mojgani.  Might I put you up on game?

I was here

I was here mothafucka

And ain’t none of y’all can write that in the spot that I just wrote it in

Honestly I could stop right there. I could stop right there because he just killed it and said it all  in three lines. I love poets who aren’t afraid to curse you out a little bit. Call your attention to some shit. I didn’t even mean to rhyme just then, but let me continue.

What made the beauty of the moon?

And the beauty of the sea?

Did that beauty made you?

Did that beauty make me?

Will that make me something?

Will I be something?

Am I something?”

And the answer comes: already am, always was, and I still have time to be.

~Here I am by Anis Mojgani

…and really that wasn’t even the shit that got me hooked.  I was listening to him recite a poem called “Shake the Dust” and he said Speak every time you stand so that you do not forget yourself, never let a moment go by you that doesn’t remind you that your heart beats 900 times a day…That there are enough gallons of blood to make you an ocean. I thought, well shit! I am an entire ocean? Made me think about what I said yesterday, that loud booming (le boom suite) that has been reverberating through my bones since it first entered my mind.

I am SO MUCH MORE than I always thought I was.

Le Boom.

2 thoughts on “Le Boom

Leave a Reply

