Ripple

I read the following quote: “I wanted to change the world. But I have found that the only thing one can be sure of changing is oneself.” ♥ Aldous Huxley.  The question I would most like to ask Aldous Huxley is, what’s the difference?  My professor, the one that I have raved about for many a post, Dr. Kim says that he is always recruiting and he knows he cannot reach everyone in the world but he reaches us, and empregnates us with thoughts and then we go birth ideas that will, inevitably, touch the world.  When you change yourself you do change the world, because people react to you differently when you change, which shifts them and their world, and so on and so forth.  It is a ripple effect.

One of the running themes for my year has definitely been about self-care.  The other is asking for help.  Both have to do with optimal health.  When you think about it, why do we even need to be reminded to take care of ourselves?  The more I unlearn the less American culture makes sense to me.  Sense to the natural order of things, we constantly try to rewrite the way, but you can only bend nature so far…it will not break, so its going to start to snap back. It already has in the form of natural disasters…its going to continue smacking us in the face until we stop making an enemy of god.

Sidebar: I know I speak a lot about God or the universe…I look at them as one in the same, and I don’t necessarily mean it to be religious in connotation, but more spiritual.  I do see a sacredness in the environment and I think that the way we treat it, as with all things, only serves to fuel what we get back from it.  When you sow seeds of  love, respect, and reverence then it will not bear rotten fruit.  Its only logic, right?

I’ve always liked this quote: “Don’t ask yourself what the world needs. Ask yourself what makes you come alive and then go do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” by Dr. Howard Thurman (shout out to the black man!).  How TRUE is that quote???  What if everyone submitted to their purpose?  What if everyone believed in themselves? What if we did not compete with one another, but rather believed in the betterment of the greater good and accepted our role as servants?  What if what if what if…that’s the world I believe in.  That’s the world I operate from. So every day when I share my life, my stories, my experiences, my goals, the readers of my garbled nonsense are changed by it.  They can accept it or reject it. I suppose many could remain indifferent to it, but the point is that you hear it.  And every time I make a change in myself its reflected in every.single.thing.I.do…or say or type or relay to the world, and so it changes.  That’s the only thing, ironically, that is constant; change.

I was thinking about this degree I’m getting. Leadership…In my opinion, the best leaders are the ones that can get the job done with all the plans go to shit.  They have something in them that lets them know they are capable of attaining victory.  (Faith).  They believe, even against all odds, in themselves and their team and most of all their cause. (Hope).  They know that because they so believe in themselves and in others they have surrounded themselves with that the impossible is within reach, and that the world will be different because they dared to dream. What else would you call it when you give your full self to a cause greater than yourself? Even one that is only but potential, not even realized yet? (Love).

Maybe I’m just a flighty with my head in the clouds, but I truly believe that if I do all those things that the world will be better because I did.  I realize that it is not about the degree, and it is not about one single isolated event in my life, but that every single day that I’m working towards it, it means I’m operating from that space, that goal, love.  It means that when I am working towards embodying love I am showing others that they have a choice to do so as well. I am showing people who may believe you cannot achieve or accomplish honestly and earnestly that you can because I did, and I will do anything I can to help you on your journey as well. Maybe all that is just farce. But I believe in that farce.  I believe it with my whole heart.  Here’s to the ripples.  Starting with me.

Leave a Reply

