10 new news

I don’t think I have enough substance on any one of these topics to do a whole post…so how about 10 blurbs?

  1. I’ve decided to write my dissertation on spirituality in higher education. That’s the general idea, as I have not even begun the program specifics aren’t really needed quite yet.  I will say that I’ve been reading and researching like its due next week and the more I learn the more I love.
  2. While researching I found out that Sawa Bona—>a common greeting among the tribes of northern Natal in South Africa that literally means I SEE YOU (as to say: I respect and acknowledge you for who you are).  In return, people say Sikbona—> which literally means I AM HERE (as to say: when you see me, you bring me into existence) (source) .  I fell in love with this hard-core. Then I added South Africa to my “to do/to see” list.
  3. My roommate (who is awesomesauce personified) suggested that I also look into Hawai’i and their view of spirituality.  I’m all about indigenous cultures because they seem to be true salt of the earth, and really the more I’ve read the more they’re basically the same. Culture is so beautiful…anyway so I was looking up some stuff and found this fascinating term ho’oponopono which means reconciliation and forgiveness–>You are 100% responsible for everything. Everything and everywhere! And it means not only your personal screwups and your personal successes. If means if someone somewhere did something and you became aware of that – you are 100% responsible for that.
    Ho’oponopono is not your free ticket to guilt trip. Being 100% responsible is not the same as feeling infinitely guilty for miseries. It’s reminder of your creative powers and gentle welcome to return back to your inner nature. That is to Zero. Joe Vitale wrote a great book on the subject called Zero Limits. When you returning back to your most inner nature – to Zero – everything becomes available to you effortlessly and you are being driven by inspiration from Divinity, not by petty ego wants. Ho’oponopono’s Zero is the same thing that Eckhart Tolle names Unmanifested.
    Back to practical reality – let assume that Zero is the next great thing after sliced bread. Or even before sliced bread. Whatever. How do we get to that “magical” state? What exactly needed to be done?This is achieved by constant cleaning process. Cleaning is the actual Ho’oponopono practice. Cleaning what? You clean yourself from subconscious garbage – programs that run your life without your participation.Apparently Ho’oponopono process is very simple. Actual Ho’oponopono cleaning process consists of repetitions of the following phrases:
    • I Love You
    • Please forgive me
    • I am sorry
    • Thank you (source)
  4. My hair is touching the bottom of the back of my neck/collar bone.  Now…it hasn’t been this long in quite some time and I’m proud of the growth but seriously its at that stage thats itching to be cut. So I’ve been rod setting a lot just so its out of the way.  I do enjoy a good messy twist out though, its more fun now that it gets bigger!
  5. I’ve been reading Tina Fey’s book Bossypants its pretty decent so far. No complaints, but what I really can’t wait to get my hands on is Dr. Jill Taylor’s My Stroke of Insight  and F***k it by John Parkin, his quote, ““Just saying F**k It and relaxing takes the edge of many problems. Say F**k It. Then smile,” brightened my morning.
  6. Pretty sure a blood vessel busted in my eye. I’m not even sure what that means!
  7. Been saying daily affirmations and prayers of thanks, and man I can really tell a difference in my attitude.
  8. I really want another tattoo…I’m torn between an infinity symbol and
    The Tao "Enso" Circle

    I’m gonna wait until I can make a decision (obviously) but I’m definitely getting one or the other. I’m leaning towards the circle.

    9.  I really miss snuggles and kisses with my sisters.

    10. This year is all about finding a roommate lol…WHO can afford to live alone in this city on a student salary of peanuts and wishes?!? Must find friends asap.

2 thoughts on “10 new news

  1. Sawa Bona, Jess! I enjoyed all 10 of these updates. I have lots of posts to catch up on around here. I need to learn how to say F*ck it and smile more often. I used to be really reckless so in my efforts to be a consciencious and mindful person, I feel like i’m sneakily getting a little uptight or something. No bueno!

Leave a Reply

