Rest

The time before the last time I don’t recall the rest 

The last time that’s all there was. 

‘I’m sorry’ lullabies replaced the warmth of your arm around me. 

Nevertheless we fell into a deep slumber. 

Two nights the same but markedly different. 

Both with such peaceful rest I can recall them by date. 

It is the mark of perhaps the truest intimacy; The cradle of peace with which we sleep. 

Even on air when my every move adjusts you, we dance in slumber gracefully and without misstep. 

Every exhale exclaims I Love You, and every deep breath in is God. 

True comfort my soul is well in our joining. 

It is only with you I rest. 

Leave a Reply

